November 14, 2022

Atlanta’s John Marshall Law School Hosts 12th Annual KSU Owl Classic Invitational Mock Trial Tournament


On Saturday, October 29, 2022, Atlanta’s John Marshall Law School (AJMLS) was pleased to host the 12th Annual Owl Classic Invitation Mock Trial Tournament for Kennesaw State University (KSU). The competition welcomed Lee University, Middle Tennessee State University (MTSU), University of South Florida (USF), University of West Florida (UWF), Auburn University, Mercer University, Georgia State University (GSU), Samford University, University of North Carolina- Charlotte (UNC- Charlotte), and Georgia College and State University (GCSU) to AJMLS’s campus in Downtown Atlanta.

Thank you to this year’s coordinators: Dr. Elizabeth Gordon, Jessica Turner, Jazmine King, and AJMLS Director of Recruitment and Outreach, Marc Reece. It was a pleasure to work with you and host the tournament.

Congratulations to the top trial teams at the Owl Classic Invitational

1st Place: Auburn University (Team Ghouls)

2nd Place: Middle Tennessee State University (Team Goblins)

3rd Place: University of South Florida (Team Werewolves)

Honorable Mention Teams: Georgia State University (Team Skeletons), Lee University (Team Zombies)

Congratulations to individual award winners at the Owl Classic Invitational!

In the 2-round tournament, it took a minimum of 9 ranks to earn a witness award and a minimum of 9 ranks to earn an attorney award.

Outstanding witnesses with 10 ranks: Abby Bauer (KSU); Alaysha Lamb (GSU); Anna McFadden (UNC-Charlotte); and Katelynn Pricer (MTSU).

Special shout out to Anna Sweet (Auburn) who earned 10 ranks as a witness on BOTH sides of the case!

Outstanding witnesses with 9 ranks: Eli Askren (MTSU); Mary Chascsa (MTSU); Sydney Fant (Lee); Manasi Giridharan (Mercer); Connor Hilly (GCSU); Olivia Kilpatrick (MTSU); Liz Medina (Samford); and Emily Wyche (GCSU).

Outstanding attorneys with 10 ranks: Lisa Calvert (GCSU); Mary Chascsa (MTSU); Zachary Ouellette (MTSU); Molley Petty (Lee); and Brayden Tompkins (UWF).

Special shout outs to the double threats: Jaida Kelley of KSU, who earned 10 ranks on BOTH sides of the case; and Caroline Deale of Auburn, who earned 10 ranks on Defense and 9 ranks on Prosecution.

Outstanding attorneys with 9 ranks: Paul Atherton (Lee); Tamia Campbell (GSU); Milla Magyar (GSU); Stelios Spirou (GCSU); and Isabella Terry (MTSU).