Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee


The Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee advises the Dean on equity, diversity and inclusion issues with the goal of ensuring that Atlanta’s John Marshall Law School becomes a more anti-racist, equitable and inclusive community for all who study, learn, teach and serve here. The Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee seeks to: engage the law school community in thoughtful discussion and reflection around race; develop educational and professional programming that includes and addresses topics of diversity and discrimination; and assist students and alumni to identify opportunities to continue this work as lawyers.

The Committee members are: Professor Lee Adams, Professor Anthony Baker, Professor Robert Brown, Professor Kathleen BurchKeith Collins, Cynthia Davenporte, Myah Fuqua, Jasmine Knight, Professor Jonathan Rapping, Marc Reece, Angela Sumpter, and Dean Erika Walker-Cash.

Dr. Wyatt and Professor Malempati are the co-chairs for the 2022-2023 academic year.

The Committee may be contacted by email at equitydiversityinclusion@johnmarshall.edu

Student Advisory Committee

The Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI) Committee’s Student Advisory Board serves as the liaison between the student body and the Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee. Each student organization, with the exception of the Student Bar Association, will select one member of its organization to serve on the Advisory Board. The Student Bar Association will select one representative from its executive board to serve on the Advisory Board and all SBA class representatives also will serve as Advisory Board members. The members of the Student Advisory Board are expected to draw on their experiences and insights as students to inform the EDI Committee about student matters and the student experience with the aim of making AJMLS a more inclusive and equitable environment for students. All Student Advisory Board members must participate in quarterly meetings. 

The Student Advisory Board will also select two members (one day student and one evening student) to serve on the EDI Committee’s Student Subcommittee on Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion. The core charge of this Subcommittee is to dismantle structural barriers to student achievement, improve the campus culture, and create a more equitable and inclusive environment for students. The student members will serve as liaisons between the Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee and the Student Advisory Board. Each Student Advisory Board member shall serve a term of one year, beginning on September 1st and ending on May 15th. Each Subcommittee member will also serve a one-year term, beginning on September 30th and ending on May 15th.