February 4, 2013

AJMLS Students Become Frederick Douglass Moot Court Competition Regional Champions


It is with great pleasure that Atlanta’s John Marshall Law School announces that Kandice Allen and Stefanie Hilliard are the SRBLSA Frederick Douglass Moot Court Competition Regional ChampionsKandice and Stefanie placed first in the competition, by outperforming 23 other teams.  This victory makes them the first team in John Marshall’s history to win first prize in this competition. In addition to winning the competition, Stefanie also received the Outstanding Oral Advocate award.

The school would also like to recognize Hunter Millwood for his phenomenal advocacy in the competition!  Not only did he perform well in the competition, but he also showed an unparalleled level of team spirit and humility by helping the coaches prepare Kandice and Stefanie for the final round of the competition. This was a collective effort, and AJMLS thanks you for your time, dedication, and input. John Marshall looks forward to watching you shine in future competitions.  In the words of one of the competition judges, “You should definitely plan to take your career into the courtroom, because you are a natural.”

Finally, the school would like to thank Lauren McAlpin, Sharee Tumbling, Ashley Barnett, Shaheem Williams, Kristal Ramirez, Derric Crowther, Tiffany Simmons, Zaira Solano, Nick Kitchens, Jacqueline Givens, Professor Van Detta, Professor de Haven, Professor Kent, Professor Stevens, Professor Doneff, Professor Gelin, Professor Williams, Professor Burch and Professor Redleaf-Durbin for benching the team.  You made significant contributions to the team’s success and your time and feedback are truly appreciated.

As a result of the team’s win at Regionals, Kandice and Stefanie will compete in the National FDMC Competition in early March.  This competition will take place in Atlanta, at AJMLS. Please congratulate Kandice, Stefanie, and Hunter for a job well done.